Just run Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 01 May 2017 00:17:07 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Apr 11, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2017.html <p>200 reps of air squats the day prior has my hams sore. &nbsp;Managed a slow jog for 4.2 miles at a time of 53:55.07. &nbsp;That&#39;s about a 13 minute mile. &nbsp;Felt about right.</p> Tue, 11 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 10, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2017.html <p>Perhaps this is a little generous but two miles feels about right. &nbsp;5 reps of 60/120s and 5 reps of 30/60s followed by what felt like a mile run. &nbsp;Shin feels much better though there is still a little bit of soreness. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 10 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 06, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2017.html <p>30 minutes biking. &nbsp;Made my butt go numb. &nbsp;60 minutes on elliptical. &nbsp;My shin is starting to feel better.</p> Thu, 06 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 05, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2017.html <p>Short ruck. &nbsp;1 hr 3:24</p> Wed, 05 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 04, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2017.html <p>30 minutes of rowing yields only 6043 meters. &nbsp;Followed up with 60 minutes on an elliptical.</p> Tue, 04 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 03, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2017.html <p>4 laps equal at least a quarter mile.</p> <p>Bear crawls and pushups</p> Mon, 03 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 30, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2017.html <p>Bad idea to go rucking. &nbsp;Slowed by a shin. &nbsp;I made it worse. 1 hr 52:41.</p> Thu, 30 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 29, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2017.html <p>I was in a hurry this morning. &nbsp;Thought about going 2.5 then opted for 3. &nbsp;Glad I didn&#39;t go 4 due to time constraints. &nbsp;I thought I was flying on the way back. &nbsp;However, time will show that I was not. &nbsp;Total time - 31:53.90 so about a 10:40 mile. &nbsp;I did make it to my appointment on time.</p> Wed, 29 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 28, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2017.html <p>Walk at about a 19 minute pace. &nbsp;1 hr 16:48</p> Tue, 28 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 27, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2017.html <p>I&#39;m guessing about 2.5 to 3 miles.&nbsp; Showed up and nobody was there.&nbsp; Went for a jog to Reilly and back.&nbsp; About 18 minutes out and 17 minutes back.&nbsp; 34:49 total time.</p> Mon, 27 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 24, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-24-2017.html <p>The boss gave us a free day today.&nbsp; Jogged 6 miles at about 11 minutes per.&nbsp; I think that is actually the fastest I am able to run now.&nbsp; 11 minutes per mile.&nbsp; Kind of scary.</p> <p>Out - 32:23.36&nbsp; Back - 34:10.08 = 1 hr 6:33</p> Fri, 24 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 23, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-23-2017.html <p>I should call this the fast running and walking blog. &nbsp;I&#39;m going to start including walk mileage here as well. &nbsp;Went for a ruck this morning. &nbsp;Although my pace is still slow, I didn&#39;t feel any lingering after effects when I was done. &nbsp;My feet and back were not sore at all. &nbsp;Pack probably weighed about 45 to 50 lbs so I can still add a little more weight to it.</p> <p>Out - 45:20.44&nbsp; Back - 45:07.70 = 1 hr 30:28.14</p> Thu, 23 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 22, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-22-2017.html <p>I think I am getting faster. &nbsp;But then again, maybe not. &nbsp;Although I felt like I wasn&#39;t moving anywhere, I finished. &nbsp;About a 10:24 mile pace. &nbsp;Not 9, but not an 11 or 12 either. &nbsp;Trying to break that 10 minute barrier. &nbsp;Just keep on running.</p> <p>Out - 25:09.35 &nbsp;Back - 26:45.57 = 51:54.92</p> <p>And then rowed 5000 meters in 25 minutes. &nbsp;Rowing is harder than it looks. &nbsp;It was easy to begin with and then reality kicked in about 5 to 7 minutes later.</p> Wed, 22 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 16, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-16-2017.html <p>Was supposed to walk 12 miles, but we got our route cut short and had to turn back. &nbsp;Three miles out, three miles back in 2 hours.</p> Thu, 16 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 14, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-14-2017.html <p>Mentally painful run. &nbsp;It was cold and raining outside. &nbsp;I was really tempted to just stay in bed. &nbsp;However, after convincing myself that I have to practice being in less than desired conditions, I was out the door. &nbsp;I walked down a couple of hills just to make sure I didn&#39;t lose my footing and it was a battle to just keep my legs moving. &nbsp;Averaged out to 11 minutes/mile, but I felt like I was slogging through quicksand. &nbsp;</p> <p>Out - 28:01.30 (5.1 miles) &nbsp;Back - 27:04.53 (4.9 miles) &nbsp;Extra Credit - 2:07.46 (.2 mile)</p> <p>Total = 57:13.29</p> Tue, 14 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 11, 2017 http://fast.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-11-2017.html <p>Slept in this morning which felt good. &nbsp;I woke up without having to set an alarm clock. &nbsp;On the other hand, I was behind schedule from the moment I woke up. &nbsp;Cut the run short in order to keep the rest of the day on track.</p> <p>Out - 10:33.68 &nbsp; Back - 10:40.78</p> <p>Although the hills are small, they sure make this trail suck. &nbsp;If I could somehow start at the other end so I could attack the hills on the way out and then coast on the way back. &nbsp;I wonder if I can run faster on a flat trail, but I have my doubts. &nbsp;Nobody on the trail this morning but me. &nbsp;Nice!</p> <p>Finished the day off with a short 6.4 mile hike with about 35 to 40 lbs in the pack. &nbsp;Average about a 17:30 mile. &nbsp;Not bad but not spectacular either. Cool temps meant that I didn&#39;t break much of a sweat. &nbsp;I might be paying for this tomorrow. &nbsp;We&#39;ll see when I wake up. &nbsp;And tomorrow is my least favorite day of the year when we lose an hour of sleep.</p> <p>3.1 Out - 51:24.85 &nbsp;Back - 53:09.34</p> <p>.1 Out - 2:11.35 &nbsp; &nbsp;Back - 2:12.30 = 1 hr 48:57</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 11 Mar 2017 07:00:00